Hannah Frank is a poetic songwriter and vocalist whose first forays dug into rural country blues, raw cowboy chords, and deep lyrics. Performing in Chicago and beyond since the late 90s, she added traces of jazz, world, rock and the energy of urban blues.

In her original music, characters step out of songs as if out of a novel.

A honey-meets-barbed wire voice tells emotional stories with new-fangled rhymes and old-fashioned wisdom. Her narrative lyrics include potent poetry.  

Here’s some chronological highlights:

2022: Stay tuned!

2021: Deep in the throes of learning!

2020: Digging into new material like jazz standards, classics and deep cuts…

2019: Keeping with Frank’s constant process of exploration of American music forms, she recently entered the studio as a jazz vocalist. Putting aside her own Guild guitar temporarily, she enlisted a crew of the best traditional jazz and Chicago blues musicians in the city for her latest effort, Comes Love released on limited edition vinyl by the maverick New York City label Random Chance.

Frank’s velvety contralto works perfectly with the cohort of veterans backing her on her new single, the first vinyl release in the label’s history. Dennis Luxion, known widely as the last word in any discussion of Chicago jazz 88 men, and multi-Grammy winner Billy Flynn on guitar form the core of the harmonic and melodic support behind Frank’s vocal stylings. The swinging-est rhythm section on wax is filled out by longtime Jimmy Rogers drummer Dean Haas and bassist Ben E. Miller, on loan from Frank’s venerable Hannah Frank Group. The combination of veteran sidemen from Chicago’s jazz and blues scenes, paired with Frank’s voice, produces a sound that is quintessentially Chicago, featured on the new 45 rpm 7-inch record.

2012 – 2019 and beyond: She also performs solo and with Hananh Frank Group. The band has performed at Chicago venues including House of Blues Chicago, Mayne Stage, Hardrock Cafe, Glenwood Avenue Arts Festival and listening rooms. She has been interviewed on local radio and her music has been heard on WDCB 90.9 FM, WLUW 88.7 FM. 


  • Comes Love / Hannah Frank (Random Chance Records, NYC) 7-inch 45 rpm vinyl (2019)
  • LIVE EP / Hannah Frank Group (independent release) digital and CD (2014) 


“Her voice has that sultry, jazzy tone, tho, and one realizes when they hear her that she can sing anything she wants…It has a “Hot Club” feel, thanks mightily to the contributions of the backing players—Chicago jazz legend Dennis Luxion is on piano, and multiple-Grammy winner Billy Flynn is on guitar!  That “B side” is a similarly-smooth re-working of Patsy Cline’s classic.  Hannah’s roots background and her torch-y delivery are a perfect fit on this chestnut.”  – Nashville Blues and Roots Alliance

“Nice, unpretentious.”    – Blues & Rhythm (UK)

Clipping from Issue #341 Blues & Rhythm (August 2019)


“When Chicago music fans and scenesters hear the name Hannah Frank, folk and roots usually comes to mind – hardly a surprise, as the guitarist and songstress has been plying club stages in the Windy City in this genre for more than a decade. With the release of her celebrated debut single, “Comes Love,” (Random Chance Records, New York) however, jazz fans in a tough jazz town will find more than enough to groove to, and then some. Her breakout vocal performance suggests that she can easily hold her own in a scene and in a town not easy on newcomers. But hold her own she does, and is here showcased by a cadre of virtuosos.” – Martin Lang www.martinlangbluesharp.com

“Kudos to the musicians and Hannah for an excellent release…bridging genres between her folk singer/songwriter roots and the styling of a 40’s jazz torch singer. She put together a killer jazz band. The B side shows off her ability to merge country and jazz with the Patsy Cline classic “Walkin’ After Midnight.” Her interpretation of this song is perfect.” – Michael Teach, Founder, Chicago Acoustic Underground www.chicagoacoustic.net


Hannah Frank and Hannah Frank Group have been part of the Chicago songwriter scene while reaching out to other genres and art practices (such as jazz, blues and spoken word). Through past work with Chicago Acoustic Underground, Strobe Recording Studios and other organizations, we’ve helped showcase songwriters from Chicago. We’ve connected with audiences at festivals, major venues and cozy listening rooms, whether part of showcases or themed shows.

  • Stormy Monday” Showcases featuring Songwriters & Spoken Word Artists at Uncommon Ground Devon, Curator and Performer, Chicago, IL (2017)
  • House of Blues Main Stage, Chicago, IL (May 2015, September 2015)
  • Glenwood Avenue Arts Festival, Rogers Park, Performer, Chicago, IL (2013, 2014)
  • Singing For Your Supper” Monthly Songwriter Showcase at Act One Pub, alongside Chicago Acoustic Underground, Performer, Sound Engineer, Curator (2013-2014)
  • Great Songwriters NOT from the Great American Songbook, Fall Music Series at Open Door Theatre, Hannah Frank performs songs of Bob Dylan, Oak Park, IL (2014), Curated by Solor Ohm
  • Blues & Folk Showcase featuring Tail Dragger Blues Band (Delmark Records), Hannah Frank Group, Curator and Performer, Chicago, IL (2013)



Photo credit: Patrick Engman, Jr.

High-Resolution Images: 

  • For high-resolution images [Photo credit: Patrick Engman Jr.]: click here


One sheet for “Comes Love”:


Press/Media Requests: Kevin Johnson, Proud Papa Promotions and Publicity: delrayjohnson@yahoo.com 

Booking, General Inquireies, Input List, Audio/Stage Technical Needs: axis.contact@gmail.com

Random Chance Records, NYC: to contact click here


Sign up on the Mailing List for Updates